top of page

Branch Awards

Most Award-Winning Branch in Virginia

11 Thalheimer Awards 
First Prize Newsletter, "NAACP NEWS", Editor: Everett Lewis, 1997, 2000 
Second Prize Newsletter, "NAACP NEWS", Editor: Everett Lewis, 1994, 1996 
Third Prize Newsletter, "NAACP NEWS", Editor: Everett Lewis, 1995 
First Prize for "Outstanding Program Activities", 1997, 2000 
Second Prize for "Outstanding Program Activities", 1994, 1996 
Third Prize for "Outstanding Program Activities", 1995, 1999 
Presented at the NAACP Annual Conventions, July 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001

9  Region VII Awards 
For "Outstanding Programmatic Activities" For the Virginia, Maryland and Washington, DC Region, given for the Branch's community involvement and presented at Region VII NAACP conferences, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2006   

2  Special Leadership Awards 
For "Outstanding Activities" Presented at Virginia State Conference NAACP, 2003 and 2004

Nathaniel R. Jones Complaint Resolution and Investigation Award 
For Outstanding Work of the Legal Redress Activities, presented at Region VII NAACP Conference, 2004

Region VII Man of the Year Award, 2006 
Presented to Everett Lewis, presented at the Region VII Conference, 2006

Outstanding Work in Planning for State Convention, 2004

Best Youth Council Award and Best Youth Director Award
Presented at Virginia State Convention NAACP, 1998

African-American Entrepreneur of the Year Award, 1994 
Councilman William D. Exile - First inductee into entrepreneur of the Year Hall of Fame, presented by Virginia State Conference NAACP, 1994

Life Membership Awards 
Dr. Benjamin L. Hooks Award, 1993 
Bill Cosby Award, 1994 

10  Kivie Kaplan Awards, 1973-1983 

2  Dr. F. J. Pepper 

Life Membership Awards 
The Dr. F. J. Pepper Life Membership Award established by the Virginia State Conference NAACP is named in honor of the Alexandria, VA Branch NAACP's Life Membership Chair

4  Jesse M. Tinsley, 1994, 1995, 1999, 2005

2  Sammy Davis, Jr. Awards, 1974, 1986 

Edward Muse Award, 1995

Membership Awards
Region VII Membership Award, 1992
Membership "Quota Buster" Award, 1995

Promoting Community Health and Wellness
Dawud Rawlings and Jacqueline S. Johnson presented by INOVA Health Systems on June 22, 2012.  

bottom of page